Apache connection to MySQL

This is my first attempt to build and deploy a web app . I have a remote Linux server running Apache and MySQL and can connect consistently from my local computer across the Internet to the database on the MySQL server. When I ‘run’ the application from the Xojo IDE on my development computer there’s no problem connecting to the remote server database.

Once I build and migrate the application to the server and then run the application on the server, I get an error message generated by my application saying it can’t connect to the db. Apache can see and start the application but fails when attempting to connect.

I changed to MyDatabase.Host = “localhost” from the domain name I used when running the application from the IDE before building and deploying.

Apache is running properly on the server as is MySQL. I can start and stop each from the command line. MySQL Workbench run on the Linux server can access the database.

It feels like a permissions issue but I don’t know where to look for the problem. Its just Apache that can’t see the db.

This is the error shown in a window asking if I want to send the error:
Unhandled IOException
Stack:
TextOutputStream.!Create%o%o
App.AppendToDBErrorLog%%os
JobTracDatabase.!SetupNewDatabase%o%
Session.Session.Event_Open%%o<Session.Session>
WebSession._ExecuteEvent%%osA1v&b
WebSession._HandleEvent%%oso<HTTPServer.HTTPRequestContext>
WebSession._HandleRequest%i4%oso<HTTPServer.HTTPRequestContext>
WebApplication.HandleHTTPRequest%%oo<HTTPServer.HTTPRequestContext>
HTTPServer.HTTPRequestThread.Event_Run%%o<HTTPServer.HTTPRequestThread>

Please help this newbie…

Thanks,

Doron

Are you checking the Db Error and ErrorMessage properties? Maybe they would shed some more light on things?

Give 775 access on the folder that your application is running. Your app cannot create log file.

Thank you for replying. Yes, I have a log file in place and the entry is: