Problem with installing WebApp on Webserver

Hello,

I am new in programming with Xojo and I am originally from VB.NET.

I would like to install my first little WebApp on my web server. After I was able to solve a number of problems with my hoster I stand before following problem and hope you can help:

I have downloaded the files via FTP (ASCII) on my web server. When calling, the app is basically assumed but then it breaks off and the following error message appears:

[quote]Gateway Time-out
The gateway did not receive a timely response from the upstream server or application.
Apache Server at www.c-doit.de Port 80[/quote]

My hoster says the following about this:

[quote]The script is terminated after a timeout.
The log appears to the error:
“Script timed out before returning headers: collectboard.cgi”[/quote]

So the script just breaks down - what can I do? The WebApp itself is not rocket science, some button labels and rectangles, barely code.

Here is the path to the WebApp: http://www.c-doit.de/cgi-bin/collectboard/collectboard.cgi

I hope you can help me fast!

Christian already made a good howto Document for Jiffybox Servers ,but it should also work on another Ubuntu Linux Webservers:

http://www.monkeybreadsoftware.de/realbasic/webapps-jiffybox.shtml

Hi Tomas,

thanks for the fast reply. The described steps I have already done. The permissions are correct, also the htaccess and the CGI executes on call.

The App is also launching, but it stops on Time out. Surely it’s a problem of the server but I have really no idea where I have to search.

I am not a server admin guy, but after looking into some google search results I would check your DNS or Reverse DNS settings. Thats what I’ve tried:

I’ve pinged your Host getting 109.237.140.24 as IP Adress. But when I try to open http://109.237.140.24/cgi-bin/collectboard/collectboard.cgi I get a Redirection to your Servers’ Admin Console…

I assume you could have an DNS or IP misconfiguration.