Learning Xojo: Recommended resources

Hello, I am attempting to learn Xojo. I am new to GUI programming and object oriented programming. However I have many years of experience with TCL and Perl.

I have been reading through the “introduction to programming” It is good but not quite enough.

I tried looking at the user guide. They are too brief. For example, pdf on user interfaces has 2 pages dedicated to creating custom controls.

The install tree has tons of great examples. However, it lacks an index as to which example explain which concepts. Even once an example is brought up, there is no way to understand why things were done the way they appear. Like something on how to create the example from scratch.

I searched on Amazon for books but they are all for realbasic which are many years old. From what I see on Wikipedia, xojo released a major update June which revamped the UI. So it is unclear to me if any of the books on Amazon would be of benefit.

Any suggestions would be welcome.

Perhaps the webinars would be helpful for you:

http://documentation.xojo.com/index.php/Videos

Did you go through the Tutorial on documentation.xojo.com

I am actually having the same dilemma as Glenn. I am a php developer and wanting to get my hands on Xojo. And i have been wondering what programming language i need to study in order to be proficient in xojo…? The availability of full and complete tutorials like the kinds on Lynda.com etc. I would really appreciate any help.

Try this one www.vtc.com Real Studio Course by Paul Lefebvre , it still applies to Xojo, and watch webinars with Paul.
Paul is talented instructor. If you understand or have basics skils in programming then you gain quickly from webinars.