ICONS on Tabs

I’m new to XOJO IOS and created a ICON (.png 64x64 - used an external tool) and dropped it in XOJO IDE Studio. When I click on the ICON, it shows fine. When i add it to a tab, it’s always light blue, not the true color that the ICON is. It appears that way in the IDE and in IOS Simulator. Is there a property I can set to make the ICON looked correct?

Thanks for any help…

I might be wrong, but I believe that the image is just used as a mask for the default blue highlight color used for all tabs in iOS. If you look in the App Store or iTunes Store on an iPhone you will see that all tabs highlight the same blue color that you are seeing and the image is just used as a mask.

[quote=202115:@Mitch Fulmer]I’m new to XOJO IOS and created a ICON (.png 64x64 - used an external tool) and dropped it in XOJO IDE Studio. When I click on the ICON, it shows fine. When i add it to a tab, it’s always light blue, not the true color that the ICON is. It appears that way in the IDE and in IOS Simulator. Is there a property I can set to make the ICON looked correct?
[/quote]

According to Apple Human Interface Guidelines, Tab icons are not colored. See
https://developer.apple.com/library/prerelease/ios/documentation/UserExperience/Conceptual/MobileHIG/index.html#//apple_ref/doc/uid/TP40006556-CH66-SW1

You could of course fake something at the bottom of a standard view with color icons. I suspect it would look very ugly and would get kicked out of the Apple Store immediately.

Yep, you can’t set the colour of tab icons.

thanks for the replies…

It might be possible though to use a color icon – at least within a game or something Apple surely wouldn’t expect the UI to look that serious. There’s the

Declare Function imageWithRenderingMode lib "UIKit" selector "imageWithRenderingMode:" (id as ptr, RenderingMode as UIImageRenderingMode) as ptr
method on UIImage (aka iOSImage) which returns a copy of the image with the selected mode.