Peek and Poke

I’m new to Xojo but I would like to use it to control my brother’s model railway layout. This requires me to talk to some hardware so I need to access ports and memory addresses. In the old Basic there were commands such as Peek and Poke. Has anyone any idea how to simulate these commands in Xojo?

There are no Peek and Poke equivalents which could be used to access hardware - the approach you take rather depends on how you want to control the railway…

If it is not DCC control, but you want to use ADCs, relays etc
or
If it is DCC but you want to do all the hard work yourself…
then you probably would be best using an intelligent control board, such as an Arduino to control the hardware
( Google Arduino DCC for some hints ) and you could interface your XOJO app to that device via Serial coms for the UI /control side.

If it is DCC and you want to use a commercial controller, the simplest / cheapest one I know is the SPROG…
SPROG DCC controller
which also conects to the host computer via Serial ( the USB version simply has a USB to Serial converter built in )

Many other commercial controllers connect via Serial ( or USB->Serial )

I did some tests, a year or so ago, connecting to a SPROG, from XOJO and it works just fine - and I have built and run the program on all 3 platforms.

maybe you can do something by sending USB commands to a little USB device which connects to the controls?

Peek & Poke? Reminds me back in those Commodore 64 times :wink:
I would suggest a Raspberry Pi for those tasks, accessing it via Web SOAP/TCP Sockets by Xojo.

I recall those BASIC commands, but I make a Google quest and do not found an occurence in page 1. I do not go to any other page.

Back to the original question:

where do you want to Peek and Poke ?

In old BASIC, it where in Memory. If I want to guess, I would say you want to do that in a “storage can” in memory. If so, how do you load / deals with that ?

Other part of the answer is: