Xojoscript basic functions

Hi,
I’m new to Xojo script and I think I maybe missing some important info, not sure where to find it in the docs. Some basic commands like

Dim newF as Xojo.IO.FolderItem
dim d as new date

Throw up errors (no type or module with this name)

print “hello world”

works fine.

Anyone any ideas?

I don’t think XojoScript supports the new framework. (I could be wrong on that, I’m avoiding the new framework until it’s done) Here’s the documentation for XojoScript: http://documentation.xojo.com/index.php/XojoScript

You might not be able to do anything more than what’s listed here: http://developer.xojo.com/scripting-functions

You can’t access any internal classes from Xojoscript. However you can access a single context class into which you can have as many functions accessible as you like, as long as you don’t pass objects back and forth.

Yes, you have to create a wrapper function or class to pass such data back and forth between your main Xojo app and your Xojoscript. Xojoscript only supports the basic language functions (if-then, etc.) and datatypes (no objects like date or folderitem).

If you just need basic functionality, you can just create your own functions that run the code inside the Xojo app. For instance, you could write a Today routine that returns today’s date to the script by using a date object inside a Xojo method.

If you need full date object functionality, you can create a clone of the entire class inside Xojoscript. I’ve done this and it’s pretty cool. I create a class in my script that has all the same functions as the original class, so regular Xojo code works in my Xojoscript. But behind the scenes the class is actually calling my context object and having Xojo do the date stuff there. I store a date object there in a local dictionary so each each clone date object has a unique ID that corresponds to the date object in the dictionary.