XOJO speed vs other languages after being compiled?

Hey folks.

I’m wondering what your experiences are with XOJO and compiled apps as far as speed? I mean, all things being equal, what kind of speeds do you get compared to C++ or some other languages such as C Sharp, etc? Anyone studied these type of comparisons I’m wondering?

Tim

It depends a lot on the kind of app. For example, if you’re waiting on file IO, it doesn’t make a difference what language.

Hi Joe,

Yeah, I was considering more DB stuff / N-Tier stuff as that’s what I’ve developed for in the past when I worked in the IT field full time back in the day… :slight_smile:

I have done some extensive comparison with code that is very math intensive (long runs with no I/O or GUI interaction). For code such as integer factorization and FFT multiplies the difference is dramatic. I have seen a difference of 26X and higher with equivalent code in C++ as compared with XOJO.

I don’t think you’ll see a giant difference in performance, since most of that stuff is waiting on the network or filesystem.

Yeah, the current compiler backend is definitely non-optimizing. For 64-bit builds, the compiler is going to leverage LLVM’s optimization pipeline and code generation. While it’s never going to generate code that’s as fast as C++, it is a definite improvement. I’ve seen a 15x performance increase with the LLVM backend on math-heavy code, but the increase is entirely dependent on type of code and how it’s written.

Joe, is the reason that XOJO will never match C++ have to do with LLVM not optimizing XOJO as much or is it the inclusion of stack overflow, nil object checking and so forth.