Xojo on Xubuntu is completely unusable for me. Anyone else?

I’m pretty new to the Xojo landscape but I’ve learned really fast. I’ve switched almost my entire workflow from Windows to Xubuntu and have been loving it. The ONLY reason I’m still running Windows at all now is Xojo.

I installed Xojo on Xubuntu 13.10 and it looked great. But over the course of about 20-45 minutes of use, the UI becomes so slow that I can literally type an entire line of code before it shows up in the editor. Moving controls can take upwards of 30 or so seconds with the UI being so slow that I can’t really tell where my controls are until I drop them.

I really hate having to work on Windows ONLY for Xojo. I know I’ve seen others talking about poor Xojo performance on Linux but I’m wondering if anyone has found a workaround to it?

I have the exact same problem, but on Linux Mint. I too am only sticking to Windows because of Xojo. The IDE is almost unusable on all the Linux distros that I have tried. The IDE on Windows is pretty smooth; however, there’s something being handled on Linux differently. Not sure what it is, but it’s not working for me. I made a post before that simple typing in the code editor made the CPU usage jump to nearly 100%. In a blank code editor, simply holding down the backspace key uses so much CPU that the computer basically bogs down. Even things like moving the mouse over the IDE on some components makes the CPU jump. Whatever calls are being made with events such as MouseMove, MouseEnter, MouseExit & Text/Selection Changes within the IDE code itself… they all need to be severely optimized on Linux before I’ll attempt it again.

not intending to Hijack but I didn’t move to XoJo (still using RS2012r2) simply because I can’t stand the changed design of the IDE. I did; however, load XoJo (some version) onto a Linux box a while back and found that it was much slower than using RB2012r2 on Windows.