Xojo IDE insert extra whitespace

Hi all,
I’m new to Xojo and have to take over an existing quite big project.
First step I did was to save the project as text to manage it on Github for source versioning

I noticed that source files are updated by the IDE to add/update whitespace, making source diff very difficult.

Here is an extract of source diff from Github Desktop to illustrate:

Can anyone tell me what I have to do to prevent this or what I’m doing wrong ?

Thank you in advance
Philippe

Are you editing the files in an external text editor?

It appears to be tabs at the start of blank lines. Did you out dent and then indent it again?

No, this is the result of automatic IDE behaviour when I save the project.
The screenshot is just an extract of a very long file (56k lines) and it’s like this for the whole file.

You’re right indeed,
I don’t want to change anything manually as the file is very long and I’d have to do it for every file in the project.

I’d like to find a solution to prevent the IDE from doing such a thing I think, maybe there is an option somewhere for this ?

Not that I’m aware of. I’ve not known a version of the IDE that didn’t indent everything that was inside a loop or conditional (if, case etc). That’s what this looks like. If you are just saving this in text format now, how did the existing version get into git in the first place?

You could do a find and replace for “\n\t\n” and replace with “\n\n” in something like BBEdit (across all files), however you will find that double nested items are “\n\t\t\n” so it becomes more of an issue. Equally you will end up doing that for every single version you ever save. I would just take the hit this time and have things easy from now on.

The good news is if you just accept everything it is unlikely ever to happen again.