XOJO and STEM education

As a recently retired scientist, I have been asked to serve as a judge for the past few years in a local school system’s annual “Science Fair” where the students’ ages range from about 4th grade through High School.

After asking how I might help by providing a bit of mentoring, I found that there is a relatively new effort to promote STEM education (Science, Technology, Engineering and Mathematics) and that a basic STEM lab has been established with a nice array of robot parts kits, Arduino’s, laser scanners, 3D printers and the like. I am not yet sure the extent to which local students have been exposed to computer programming.

So, I’d like your opinion about XOJO’s suitability for teaching computer programming and for integrating with a STEM lab (especially one heavy on robotics). One important feature to consider is that budgets are limited.

Thanks.

Xojo provides a free book in pdf format Free Xojo Book on Programming You might talk to @Bob Keeney as I think he was been doing some robotics education

I think at the last XDC (or maybe it was the previous one), there was a Teacher (Professor?) who was using Xojo for a college/university level course they give. Sorry, I couldn’t find a link to where this was mentioned so maybe contact hello@xojo.com it you want information on who that person was.

Also, a thing to consider is that I think you can use Xojo for free as long as you want, if you’re only running apps you create (in debug mode). It’s when you do a build (for distribution) that you need a license.

Disclaimer: the above is from memory, not the most reliable module I have.

As well, building for Raspberry Pi is free you just have to ask for the license.

All the best and have fun!