Xojo 2018 or wait

I am putting this in off-topic as it isn’t really a technical question or solution.
I have been using Realbasic/Studio/Xojo since 2006 and until 2016, paid the required subscription fee each year.
However at that time, I went from a career oriented income to a fixed income (due to a number of circumstances)
so as such, I have to plan ahead for an expense as small as $300.

That all being said, lately (over the past few months), there has been a lot of discussion about Xojo2018, and various issues it has, some related to new features, others issues cropping up in previously existing features. So I know that there has been progress on making it more stable, but since I am having to hedge my bets on when I start my “next year” subscription. I would like to hear from those of you who are currently up to date, and see what you feeling about the current state of Xojo is. My concerns are limited only to macOS and Windows, so I’m not much interested in issues that relate specifically to the other platforms.

Should I start my “year” now? Wait for 2018r2 or r3? or hold out for 2019?
I’m not in a huge rush (yet)… but I would like to get the full 64bit experience (debugger etc), so I can move away from 32bit completely

We use Xojo 2018r2.1 for large problems are don’t have those problems other complain about :slight_smile:

Then you are ahead of the curve… since public download is for r1.1 not 2.1

so I’m back of the curve …
I have an active pro licence, and I use 2017r3 because it fits my needs…
I understanded that 2018 is mainly for windows stuff I don’t need now.

Unless you plan on releasing something soon what is the point of buying a license for you? You can create your apps in the latest Xojo and test them in the debugger, but unless you NEED a compiled version there is no case for you to buy.