XMLdocument.XQL question

Hi there… I’m a newbie on xml and I have a big problem.

Scenario: I read an xmldocument(folderitem), and I’m searching for the value of a field… doing someting like this

nodes=MyXMLdoc.Xql("//ParentField/ChildField/AnotherChildField") For i As Integer = 0 To nodes.Length - 1 node = nodes.Item(i) k = XmlTextNode(node.FirstChild) MyRequest=k.Value Next

So my problem is that this code works nice but not all the times… With some XML files it works every time, with some XML files it never works. The mentioned field is present and has got a value! Today I spent a lot of hours to understand why… and (I think) the only difference between the working and not-working files is the endofline… Seems that the not-working files has unix carriage return (seen by textwrangler) and the working files has mac or windows cr…

In the debug I can see that the string value (property of xmldocument) read by my app, is in one line only (no end of lines)…

So I tried to parse a string instead a folderitem… with this code

[code]dim t As TextInputStream
dim s As String

t=TextInputStream.Open(xmlFile)
t.Encoding=Encodings.UTF8
s=t.ReadAll(Encodings.UTF8)
s=ReplaceAll(s,EndOfLine.UNIX,EndOfLine.Macintosh)

XMLDoc=new XmlDocument

Try
XMLDoc.LoadXml(s)
Catch e As XmlException
MsgBox(“This does not appear to be an XML file.”)
Return
End Try[/code]

But I have no results… that XML files containing values that I can’t read :frowning:

Anyone have ideas? Have I to provide any other information about my problem?

Thanks a lot in advance…

please see : https://forum.xojo.com/51275-xml-attributes/p1#p415603
this method will look in all nodes with xql to get all the values you need.
the method must be placed in a module and must be public.