Windows Installer and Runtime files

Today I did a lot of trials with getting a Xojo compiled .exe to run on several Windows systems.
I learned that the Runtime installer - vc_redist.x86.exe- isn’t reliable in any means. Sometimes it works (installs) without issues, sometimes with errors and the Xojo compiled .exe does not run in that case.
So the only reliable way is to install the Runtime files in the same directory as the .exe

What I need is an Inno installer script that:

• First checks if the needed runtime is already installed
  • If not, it installs all the runtime files in the same dir as the .exe

To be honest, I have zero experience with the Info scripting languages and to learn it for just making one script is not very productive. :slight_smile:
Does any have some pointers or even a script that does this?

TIA

If you install the runtime files in the same dir as the .exe, then it doesn’t matter whether the runtime was already installed in the system. The already installed runtime become irrelevant to your .exe because your .exe will look for the dependencies in the same dir first. If it cannot find then and only then it try to look for them in the system dir (SysWOW64 for 32 bit app or system32 for 64 bit app).

So there is no need to check. Just go ahead and copy them into the .exe folder.

If one day, for whatever reason, the user happen to uninstall the already intalled runtime, it will not affect your app.

Here is the InnoSetup script I use, where AppName is the name of the app.
After compiling the script, you will find “AppName214Setup” (see below: OutputBaseFilename) in the OUT folder created (I think) by Innosetup itself.

[Setup]
AppName=AppName
AppVerName=AppName 2.1.4
AppPublisher=YourCompany
AppPublisherURL=http://www.yourcompany.com/…
AppSupportURL=http://www.yourcompany.com/…
AppUpdatesURL=http://www.yourcompany.com/…
DefaultDirName={pf}\AppName 2.1.4
DefaultGroupName=AppName 2.1.4
VersionInfoVersion=1
AllowNoIcons=yes