Why not implement .Net ?

A @Giles Evans has posted a couple opinions in the <https://xojo.com/issue/28733>

[quote=@Michel Bujardet]Main visible advantage of .Net is no flicker.

Don’t confuse VB.Net and Xojo.[/quote]

[quote=@Giles Evans]@Tim Jones
It’s the comments left by others that leaves me to question the advantage of .NET to those who would want XOJO to support it. I am relatively new to XOJO, but from a C++ and Assembly I’ll always opt to call the Win32 API directly over .NET 98% of the time. .NET let’s you get started faster if you’re learning, especially for building your form with a visual interface. That’s very appealing for a while, but in my experience you end up finding some very hard limitations.
If I wanted a “Flicker Free” app I would definately avoid .NET at least from C++. Microsoft added the optimizations of double buffering and others to .NET because that was, and still is, a serious bottleneck of the .NET framework. I suspect this “flicker” is more of an issue with the XOJO framework itself needing work on optimizations and will more likely only get worse in a switch to the .NET framework.
Most of .NET is nothing more than an C++ (Object Oriented) Wrapper around the Win32 API and is intended to hide the tedious details of the Win32 API. It succeeds at that in some respects, but fails in others. If most of what you write fits well with what MS tries to support, it can succeed quite well. If you depart into “virgin territory” like direct hardware communications, you can lose the advantage entirely, and even cause a great deal of extra work compared to native code using Win32 directly.