Why did they leave ?

I have been a member and PRO user since 2014 and have registered that a number of skilled xojo users have left the forum…

What do they do now ? And why did they leave?
Offcourse i’m rembering only two persons right now…

@Brad Hutchings
@Alain Bailleul

Sometimes, people get busy or caught up in work, projects, personal events, etc… Doesn’t mean they left, but probably not able to log in like they use to.

Brad left after some fights with other members of the forum. He closed down the site where he was selling Xojo Web classes. Apparently moved on.

Alain Bailleul moved on to another platform entirely, as he had started with to develop for Android, years ago.

Sometimes people disappear and come back later, too.

There seems to be “a lot of” figths…

Many of the members like me don’t have english at their first language.
We don’t know if we affend someone or when some of you are joking about things.

I see very few instances of “fights”, especially since Mr. Hutchings left. He had a rather, shall we say, abrasive style. I find most people here to be patient, helpful, and kind. You’re right about the language issue; occasionally people are not as understanding as they could be in that regard.

I disappeared for a few years because I had no Xojo projects going. Came back last year because I had a new one, and because I finally made the jump from RS to Xojo. Sometimes I even manage to be helpful to someone! The latest project is pretty much done now, but I hang around because I like the community, I always learn stuff, and it’s less stressful than Facebook :slight_smile:

What is that ? Something new ? Something blue ? … :wink:
(joking, of course)

There have been many more, some of whom I still keep in touch with, even after they switched tools or even careers.