Where are my App events?

As I said in a previous post I’m brand new to Xojo so please forgive my general ignorance here. I’m wanting to write some database code and I want the program to connect to or create the database when it launches. I know I should do this in the App.Open event. But how to I get to this event? When I select the App object in the navigator, all I see is the “constants” option.

Where are the App events?

You need to add an Event Handler and select which events you want to use.

Umm wow, that is cool! I like doing it that way. Thanks, Bob!

I would be more inclined to like it more if it was more obvious to newcomers. :slight_smile:

I made this point during the beta process: requiring users to Add Event Handler dramatically raises the discovery bar for new users. In my opinion, this ought to be a preference, to show all handlers for the object by default. As a long-time user of the IDE, I’d probably have it turned on as well.

Trust me, you weren’t the only one. Some of us brought it up during the alpha period. :wink:

OR beta :wink:

The flip side: can you imagine how bad the Navigator would be with every event for every object? It would make a large list even more unmanageable.

I have a love/hate relationship with the EventHandler. For some things I really like it (list boxes) but other times it’s a royal pain (timers, threads, and buttons come to mind immediately).

To me the best of both worlds approach would be for a few default events to be always added (perhaps set in preferences).

For instance, Open and Action, especially in objects like Timers that have only one event or a PushButton where duh, you need an Action event or it’s useless.

Rare and less used events would need to be added manually (but even there a handy “add event” button next to the control would be helpful).

The navigator

I’m getting more used to it… but even after all this time, I still think the old IDE was significantly more productive for me …