Web App connection to MS SQL - IDE on OSX

Hi there,

I’m a newbie, just installed Xojo on my Mac (OSX 10.8.5) and need to develop a Web App connecting to an existing MSSQL Express database. I just need read-only access.
It doesn’t seem possible to do it with Xojo.

Does anyone have a solution ?

I’ve been reading posts about MBS SQL plugin and others about Actual ODBC but I’m not sure it works for a Web app.

Any hints ?

Many thanks,

Olivier

I’ve not tried the Actual Microsoft SQL Server ODBC driver, but in general ODBC works fine with web apps. You should be able to download their evaluation version to test it out with your app.

I use SQL Server with a web app, but on Windows. I think it should work for you.

Here is something you may want to look at. I am going from memory, I have not installed Express in a long time… I believe that by default, SQL express activates only the shared memory conduit. You may have to activate the others (TCP/IP and trusted connexion, I believe. But I am not entirely sure of the latter) I remember I once had a similar issue with a VB6 app, and the solution was to activate the other conduits. I would verify which one the ODBC driver (or the plugin) uses - i suspect it is TCP/IP. I cannot be sure, because I don’t use ODBC. I prefer straight ADO, which you can unfortunately not use.

I have used the ActualTechnologies and they work exceptionally well.

While it’s quite simple to connect to any MSSQL on Mac (using Xojo’s MSSQL plugin or Actual ODBC Driver as mentioned before) you might have some drawbacks on Windows in using ODBC. You must not use the default ODBC MSSQL Driver. Try to install and use the SQL Server Native Client OLE DB instead.

You may redist the MSSQL native client in your software:

http://technet.microsoft.com/de-de/library/ms131321.aspx

Hi Greg,

I’m trying to configure the ODBC connection but can’t get it work.