Vibrancy driving me mad

Hello!

I’m just a hobby programmer, so there’s no real need to produce a fancy looking app. Still, since starting to write Mac apps for my own use in Xojo I am missing vibrancy very much as an aesthetic feature – and even Xojo itself is using it by now.

Without knowing much about declares, I just downloaded macoslib and created an instance of the NSWindow example. There are (too) many properties and methods to wrap my head around, and the window’s behaviour is quite strange – the (too strong) vibrancy effect (see picture) only appears after having opened the splash screen once, which complicates understanding and using macoslib even more.

So the question remains: Isn’t there an easy way to implement this effect? (And I’m wondering why Xojo itself doesn’t offer the effect as the IDE uses it and is supposedly written in Xojo itself.)

(And sorry for my language – I’m not a native speaker and unable to put my current frustration in proper words …)

Buy Sam’s Appkit or Christian MBS plugins. Both have all what you need to have full control over vibrancy.

1 Like

Also note item 5 on the Xojo roadmap.

https://documentation.xojo.com/resources/roadmap.html#roadmap

@ChristopheDV: I know that, but as a hobbyist the Xojo licence itself is all I can/want to afford. There must be other ways …

@Gavin_Smith: That looks interesting. The question is, what that will mean in practice…

Last time I looked at macoslib is was barely useful. Not sure if it is any better now.
Still, the only way to do it right is with the MBS plugins or Appkit. Don’t think there is an alternative that will work good.

Of course you can wait for Xojo Inc implement it in the future.