vb.net containers and dynamic buttons vs Xojo equivalent

Hello,
I am new to Xojo. I am playing with it to see how easy it would be to move away fro vb.net. So i hope someone could help.

In Vb.Net (or .net in general) they have containers e.g. Table Layout containers which allows me to neatly stack dynamic buttons. So my questions are:

1. What is the equivalent of table layout containers in Xojo?
  2. I have been playing with controlsets from the various posts on the forum. Seems a bit silly to create a control and then clone it via a control set (from what i have read, must admit i don’t fully understand yet how Xojo does things differently) This is what i do in .net via a while loop
Dim ItemButtons As New Button 'put it in the loop so you create a new button each time
With ItemButtons

.Text = sqlReader("Description").ToString()
	.Top = 10 + (5 * CInt(sqlReader("idx")) )
	.Left = 25 + (1 * CInt(sqlReader("idx")))
	.Name = sqlReader("idx").ToString
	.Font = New Font(ItemButtons.Font.Name, 10, Font.Style.Bold)
	.ForeColor = Color.SteelBlue
	.Width = 136
	.Height = 91

End With

What is the equivalent of this in Xojo?

You can use the containers and embedwithin!!

link

Have you looked at the controlsets example? Examples->Desktop->Controls

There’s a manual for Xojo available online: http://developer.xojo.com/userguide
and as a PDF in your Xojo install folder inside the one titled Documentation!

Some great resources to read before you get started.

1. There is no out-of-the-box equivalent of TableLayoutPanel in Xojo.

2. I may be wrong but I have not seen With… End With statement in the Xojo examples and References. You have to specify the object names in every line.

XOJO does not support WITH/ENDWITH (wish it did)

Thank you all! Appreciate the replies. Sadly the functionality I am looking for does not seem to exist :frowning: