Using Latex with Xojo for displaying Maths equations

Hi all, I would like to be able to use Xojo to display Maths equations written in Latex, but so far have not been able to determine if Xojo can do this and if so how. Any ideas would be appreciated. I am a Maths teacher and want to show students how the order that operations are applied to a variable will affect the final expression. For example x mult by 2 and then add 3 gives a different expression to x add 3 then mult by 2. (Obvious to us but not to all students). Many thanks in anticipation.

Maybe give a link to the Latex program/website as searching it gives interesting results lol

Search for [LaTex editor]. For example

LaTeX - A document preparation system (latex-project.org)

There are many providers for LaTex compliant software.

omg! Is this software still being used? How about using Mathematica instead?

I guess the easiest way would be to use Xojo as a frontend for KaTeX. The following link could give you an idea on how to accomplish this.

And by the way: LaTeX is still the gold standard when it comes to rendering mathematical expressions or writing scientific papers :slight_smile:

2 Likes

Hi people, I am not sure I explained myself clearly enough. I am a Secondary Maths teacher. One of the difficulties our less able students have is understanding how an algebraic expression has been built up. This is important when evaluating an expression, when solving equations and just generally understanding algebra. it is also important in calculus when differentiating using the ‘function of a function’ or ‘chain rule’.

I had thought it might be good to have a little app that can be used to demonstrate the principles. It would be in the form of a ‘function machine’ when students would choose an operation (like +4 or x5 or square etc) and the app would display the resulting expression.