Using App Wrapper 3

I’m a total noob in submitting apps to the Mac app store. I got a copy of App Wrapper 3 and am making poor progress in figuring it out, so any assistance would be gratefully accepted!

First of all, I’m getting a warning after the build that states: “OS Creator Code should be a unique 4 letter string, not “”.” What does this mean and how do I fix it? I could find nowhere to specify an OS Creator Code.

Secondly, my application uses an external sqlite database. How do I include it in the package? I’ve poked around everywhere within AW3 and can’t find a place to specify these external files.

Thanks!

@Michael,
On the left hand side is the Navigator. Underneath where it says “Build Settings” it says " OS X".
Click on OS X, and then look on the right-hand side. It says “Inspector”. Click on that and you can then enter a 4 character creator code. I normally use “???”.

Regarding your database problem - it is always better to create the database file upon first start of your app, and then save it to the user’s disk. SpecialFolder.ApplicationData.Child(“MyApp Data”)

Hope that helps :slight_smile:

Richard,

Thanks for the quick response. I see the Creator Code.

Regarding the database, it’s used for reference, so I can’t create it on the fly.

What do you mean used for reference? Can you not recreate the database’s contents upon first run, and then simply reference it from their disk? I don’t quite understand why you cannot create it?

You can put the database in Resources and read from it there. But, if you are doing ANY writing to the database you’ll want to copy it from Resources to SpecialFolder.ApplicationData.

The reason you do this is it considered a security breach if you modify the bundle contents of your application while it’s running. So copy the file into ApplicationData and never worry about it again.