Using a dictionary in Xojo

Given a 400 x 400 array and a Gaussian-distributed pseudorandom number, Normal, is the following correct? I’m just learning how to program and would appreciate some feedback. Please see comments in code.

Dim settings As New Dictionary For i=0 to 399 For j=0 to 399 if settings.HasKey(Normal(i,j)) then // check in dictionary to see if a number has been previously returned for the i,j parameters Return settings.Value(Normal(i,j)) // if so, return that same number else ... Next Next

This is correct if you are trying to return the first value in the array that appears in your settings Dictionary. Won’t this keep returning the same value though?

It won’t ever return anything. The Dictionary is EMPTY as it was instantiated on the first line of the method

D’oh!

Thanks for telling me! So how do I correct it?

What exactly are you trying to do?

You correct it by creating the dictionary somewhere elses (global)

But how are you POPULATING it.
The code you posted looks for a key…

But what PUTS THE KEY and DATA IN?

Thanks for the replies. I would like to have a different normal-distributed pseudorandom number, Normal, at each site in the array given by i and j, but that number needs to be the same in function 1 as in function 2 for the particular choice of i and j, if that makes sense. I was advised to create a function that accepts the i,j parameters, returns the “normal” random number, and stores the number in a dictionary. The steps are:

-check in dictionary if a number has been previously returned for the i,j parameters
-if so, return that same number
-if not, generate a new number, store it and return it

Right now I’m stuck on implementing the first two steps.

// global at module level
Dim settings As New Dictionary
FUNCTION check_dictionary(i as integer, j as integer) as integer

if NOT settings.HasKey(Normal(i,j)) then

settings.value(normal(i,j))=new_random_number ' up to you to decide what goes here

end if