Unhappy at work. Can I earn enough with Xojo?

I’ve been around on the forums for years and have been an active Xojo user for over a decade. Currently my full time job is a consultant radiologist but I have to say that I’m feeling pretty burnt out and medicine just isn’t my passion anymore but I love to code. Although I’m only a “hobby” programmer I believe I’m a very competent programmer having written everything from simple Xojo controls, to a couple of database apps all the way up to a turing complete object-orientated programming language (Roo) - all in Xojo. My public repos are on Github.

I don’t see enough of my children and I want more flexibility in my job.

My worry is though that I can’t earn enough money as a software developer with Xojo as I currently do as a radiologist. I don’t have to earn the same (my wife could increase her earnings) but I do have two small kids and a mortgage so I can’t work for free. I also don’t have a plan (i.e. I don’t have a current killer app idea to work on).

Don’t suppose you’re hiring @Dana Brown ?

Does anyone have any advice?

Xojo Pro license include consulting leads. You may want to check that.

I remember a post from Bob saying he used the leads to do some jobs (maybe a long time ago). Now he is well known and people go to him (no need for the leads anymore).

Good luck.

Indeed, a Xojo Pro license gets you access to the consulting leads. Some months are better than others but we answer most of them. And like Alberto said we get a lot of unsolicited calls now which is great.

Besides the consulting leads some ideas to get your name into the community:
• Blog about Xojo
• Answer questions on the forums
• Create a product/solution that Xojo developers need/want
• Contributing to some open source Xojo projects

There are folks that are looking for Xojo developers. Just putting your name out there might generate some interesting. :wink:

It depends on your development skill and speed.