Unexpected behaviour of SleepCurrentThread

Hello,

I have a window containing a canvas and a button. The action for the button contains the following code:

Dim p as New Picture(40,40)
 Dim g as Graphics = p.Graphics

Window1.Canvas1.Refresh

g.Pixel(10,10) = RGB(255,0,0) // Draw a red dot
 Window1.Canvas1.Graphics.DrawPicture(p,0,0)

App.SleepCurrentThread(2000)

g.Pixel(20,10) = RGB(0,255,0) // Draw a green dot

App.SleepCurrentThread(2000)

g.Pixel(30,10) = RGB(0,0,255) // Draw a blue dot

The result I expect is:
Clear the canvas
Draw a red dot
Sleep for 2 seconds
Draw a green dot
Sleep for 2 seconds
Draw a blue dot

What actually happens is:
Clears the canvas
Sleeps for 4 seconds
Draws the red, green and blue dots all at the same time.

In other words it seems to do all the sleeps first and then it does everything else.

Is there a way to make the sleeps and graphics updates happen in the intended order?

Note: This is my first attempt at coding with Xojo.
I’m running this on a Mac with OSX Mountain Lion.

Here are couple of concepts re XOJO and drawing…

1. when your application draws into canvas graphics, that is NOT when the visible action gets drawn to screen. In a very very simply app that draws a static image, you get away with it. In your app, you are trying to display a series of different visible states.

Yes, you did draw all three states and your thread did pause, but that doesn’t mean the framework will necessarily update those drawing actions to screen.

1. You actually should NOT directly access and draw into canvas.graphics. That is of course the natural thing to approach things, and as a XOJO beginner you will be tempted to do things that way. Don’t. If you want to create anything more than trivial static displays, NEVER draw into canvas.graphics. Instead, do all your drawing in response to the canvas’ paint event.

2. The paint event passes you g as graphics. Draw into the passed g rather than directly manipulating canvas.graphics.