Timer within a timer

Hi - I’m new to Xojo and still getting my feet wet, though I have several years of programming experience in C++ and assembly.

For a project I’m working on I want to have Timer scanning the serial ports for a particular connected device, then a second timer that gets kicked off after sending a query on each port that acts as a timeout while waiting for a response.

The first timer’s working fine, as are the serial connections, but for some reason the second timer is not. (That is - the second timer works when enabled directly, but when enabling from within the first timer it never seems to trigger). Here’s a simplified loop that’s inside the Action event handler of the first timer:

TextArea1.AppendText(“Begin!”+Chr(13))

responseTimer.Mode = Timer.ModeSingle
Do
App.SleepCurrentThread(5)
Loop until timerDone
TextArea1.AppendText(“End”+Chr(13))

In the Action event handler for responseTimer I set
timerDone=True

Any idea why responseTimer is never getting triggered?

Remove your Do…Loop Until loop altogether. Set your responseTimer mode then call your TextArea1.AppendText(“End”+Chr(13)) from the Action Event of the timer. Don’t use “timerDone” at all. You are confusing the issue with too many loops.

Also, better to use Xojo’s “endOfLine” than rely on Chr(13) to be valid on all platforms

Also, Timers are not Threads, they always fire on the main thread during idle time.

Timer action events are executed one at a time on the same thread, meaning the second Timer must wait for the first Timer to fully exit its Action event.

[quote=412545:@Jesse Rosen]Do
App.SleepCurrentThread(5)
Loop until timerDone[/quote]
While the first timer’s action event is looping, it blocks all other system and UI. No other Timer can fire, no mouse clicks can be responded to, no keyboard entry, etc.