The 80's called and they want linenumbering back

What’s the point of the new line-numbering feature? I’m an amateur here but this sounds like a throwback to the 80’s. What am I missing?

Have you used any other code editor, ever?

@Mark Jordan it gives a reference point for the code.
Line numbers arent something you can reference in the code.
Personally I like the line numbers and wish I could turn it on globally for all code.

I dunno. Here’s my programming history:

C64
C128
Amiga
FutureBasic (Mac)
RealBasic
Xojo

[quote=323683:@scott boss]@Mark Jordan it gives a reference point for the code.
Line numbers arent something you can reference in the code.
Personally I like the line numbers and wish I could turn it on globally for all code.[/quote]

Interesting. I’ll give it a whirl.

Here’s one use: If you’re doing a code review of some else’s code you may want to say “Hey, on line 48 you should do it this way instead.” You could always get that by moving the mouse cursor over the line, but seeing them in the gutter is more convenient and something a lot of people are familiar with.

Turning line numbers on does turn it on everywhere.

I use the LINE feature of PHP all the time. This inserts the line number literally in the code and is great when throwing exceptions like "Missing argument in line " + LINE
I’ll probably add a feedback note if it has been done already.

Okay, I’m getting it.

http://php.net/manual/en/language.constants.predefined.php for LINE

[quote=323690:@Paul Lefebvre] @scott boss Personally I like the line numbers and wish I could turn it on globally for all code.

Turning line numbers on does turn it on everywhere.[/quote]

hmm I have only played with 2107R1 a little. In the pre-release I had to keep turning it on as I floated around. I will check it out. It could be PEBCAK.

as reference its useful
other than that no real purpose
hence why it hasn’t been shown in any editor gutter for 20 years but has been available in the lower status area