Tab Panels for Switching Screen Layouts ?

Hi all,

I’m developing a back office / admin app for my company that requires different views for say, sales data, customer info etc (a bit like a CMS in many ways). How would I best achieve the basic structure for this? Would a tab panel that was full screen/window size be the way to go with each tab representing a different view?

I don’t really need full-on hand holding here - just an idea of what technique would be best as I’m new to Xojo (but loving it btw!)

Thanks in advance

Nope. Try with a page panel. Then you need to control how to switch between the panels. And if you plan to add more than a couple of controls to each panel then use container for each panel.

I do this exact same thing. Just what Beatrix said, use a PagePanel. I switch it programmatically from a toolbar at the top, but you could control it any number of ways.

Thanks very much for the speedy replies! I’ll take a look down that route.

I just made a landing screen very like the Xojo new project dialog, where there is a listbox down the left, and a page panel on the right.
When the listbox.listindex changes, I change the page panel to match.
Its neat…
like this:

I always struggle making user interfaces - they can be so difficult (or I overthink the problems way too much). Here’s a sample of a recent attempt I’m working on. Trying to focus on minimal amount of navigation to get to the data. This section uses a sourcelist, listbox, and then container controls in a canvas.

Just been having a fiddle with PagePanels and that’s exactly what I needed. Love the way you can nest them too which is perfect for my needs so thanks again for all your input.

Tanner Lee - are you aware that you didn’t blur out the Office Licence Key in your screenshot!

Thanks Richard, but it’s a dummy.