Studio Stable Database - Dead Product?

Studio Stable Database, is this a dead product? I am new to Xojo, very, very new. I have been playing around with it and am staring to attempt to work with databases. I came across SSD and it meets my needs exactly. So, I downloaded it. I can get the server to run just fine, but the client just gives me errors when I try to compile it. I attempted to get support but after waiting about 3 days for a response, any response. I do’t’ think I am ever going to get one.

I have been enjoying getting to know Xojo, but I have to say the whole database part of it is about driving me nuts. Not the Xojo itself. I need a client/server solution that doesn’t break me and all the different tools have got me confused. qubeSQL looks interesting, but I can’t pay 300.00 for a desktop lic and then an other 300.00 for a database lic, plus a lic for qubeSQL itself. I’m just a hobbist who has been asked by a family member with a business if I can help him. Valantina looks interesting but I can’t figure out what the heck that wold cost me. Then there are 3rd party tools like active record, that look really cool but work with this but not that. I’m lost…

I really want to give SSD a go, but can’t make it work, can’t get support. I am staring to believe that Xojo, may not be for me. So, this is my last resort. I realize that SSD is free, but if it doesn’t work and you can’t get help, what good is it?

David

Well, the SSD developer is an active member of the Xojo community so I can’t imagine what’s going on. Be patient, I suspect he’ll answer.

I don’t use SSD but what sort of errors are you getting? Without more detail it’s hard to diagnose.

As the developer for ActiveRecord it works with SQLite, MySQL, Postgres, and CubeSQL what are you trying to do? We use AR in practically all of our consulting projects. It works well for what we need it to do so it should probably do what you need.