Standalone Desktop App Deployment

Hi there, I’m an Italian developer and I’ve just joined this forum because I’m interested in developing cross platform application with Xojo.

First of all, what do you think about this program. Is it powerful enough? Is it a valid alternative to Qt and/or Xamarin?

However, I’ve installed Xojo on my Mac and created a simple desktop application to see how it works. Then I built the app for all the platforms available (OS X, Windows and Linux). Now, the Mac app is a simple .app file which contain all the extra files inside, but the Linux and Windows apps are correlated with some extra files and folders. So, is there a way to create a standalone desktop application for each platform, without the additional libraries?

Thanks in advance. Bye.

No Grabiele,

on Windows a single exe file was available in earlier versions but this changed so now you get an exe and a folder with the required dlls.
There are some utilities for creating a single executable (for example Enigma VirtualBox and it’s free http://www.enigmaprotector.com) if you really need to do it.

Speaking about what it is best: just try it (you can do it free).
There so many factors to take into account : programming language, previous knowledges, kind of applications that you need to develop and so on.
The language it’s simple to master when compared, for example, to C++ but this it’s not the only factor.
At this level the frameworks are big and maybe not so simple to compare.

Speaking about supported platform Xojo has one more platform: web applications.
Maybe for you this can make a difference.

Saluti.

Grazie Maurizio,

I’ve developed a lot of applications in VB.NET with Visual Studio, so this might be a powerful and more simple program for me.
At the moment, I’m not interested in mobile programming and web application capability it’s a good additional feature.