Sort an array (step by step)

Hello group, here’s my question for today :slight_smile: I’m studying arrays … I need to sort A total for each month of the year … I managed to do it by creating two separate arrays, which use the same index, in the first one there I put the sums and in the second the months. When I order the first, the value of the second is automatically moved too. I used this method:

Var i,j as integer
var temp as currency
var temp2 as string

for i=0 to 11
  for j=0 to 11
    if SommeAndamentoNettoMensile(j)>SommeAndamentoNettoMensile(i) then
      temp=SommeAndamentoNettoMensile(i)
      temp2=Mese_SommeAndamentoNettoMensile(i)

SommeAndamentoNettoMensile(i)=SommeAndamentoNettoMensile(j)
      Mese_SommeAndamentoNettoMensile(i)=Mese_SommeAndamentoNettoMensile(j)

SommeAndamentoNettoMensile(j)=temp
      Mese_SommeAndamentoNettoMensile(j)=temp2

end if
  next j

next i

For i=0 to 11 
  messagebox SommeAndamentoNettoMensile(i).ToText + " mese di " +Mese_SommeAndamentoNettoMensile(i)
next i

I was reading the xojo documentation, I saw the possibility of creating two-dimensional arrays and sorting the arrays with the sort or .SortWith method … My sorted data then I have to transfer to a listbox. My question is this: Is there a better method I can use since it’s not that much data anyway? Or, if I transfer them to a listbox can I sort the listbox faster?

In the end, I’m interested in having a listbox where I can read the sorted values: January 100
February 130
March 400 …etc…etc…

You don’t need to use 2-dimensional arrays. A 1-dimensional array is quite enough.

I often use the SortWith method. In my app - just one example - I need to sort emails clients before IMAP accounts which is done with SortWith.

Ok so my example is fine with two one dimensional arrays… but if I use sort on the first one, how do I sort the second one based on the first one?

Use SortWith instead of Sort.

var a() as integer
var b() as string
a.sortwith(b)