Serial Interface Question

Hello,

I’m a beginner with Xojo and I would like to ask a question about serial interface. I have an Arduino connected as a serial device to a comm port in the Xojo app(Windows). It works Ok and I can read characters in output area. I added \r
in Arduino serial.write char code. In Serial \ Data available I have :
If InStr(Me.LookAhead(Encodings.ASCII), Chr(10) + Chr(13)) > 0 Then
OutputArea.Text = OutputArea.Text + Me.ReadAll(Encodings.ASCII) End If

I want to trigger certain character events from the OutputArea  such as " read this character and push that button "

If OutputArea.Text = "c" Then
                                                                                                       call GoToGmail.Push
                                                                                                       End If

Is this possible? (Before I pull my hair out?) I can’t make it work. I tried with event handlers and no luck so far. This is just a desktop remote control for “lazy mode” :). Push a button and launch a website page or login into your email…or do other tasks.

Thank you

Hi Val,

the question is not seemingly about the serial interface, from what you say the serial part is working perfectly, you are getting the data into the OutputArea.

but a suggestion is not to directly use the OutputArea.Text to test for the character “c”.
in DataAvailable you should Me.ReadAll into a PROPERTY of the project, such as ‘received_data’.
you would then test this property for the wanted character “c”, display the data in the property if you wish, but in reality you do not need to see it for the data to work, seeing ASCII data can be extremely deceiving, the data received may not actually be what you expect, what you see is the ASCII character and not all the data that is sent.

my suspicion is that the data you have from ReadAll is actually 3 characters (at least).