Seeking Advice on a new project - PHP or WE?

Forgive my somewhat lengthy message, but I’d like to make the right decision from the outset to avoid the pain of reversing it later. Here’s the story:

I’ve developed in PHP for many years (Since 2000 - 2001ish at least). I’m very comfortable with the language, the paradigms it uses, the environments it runs in, etc. I’m a competent Linux admin, and handle taking care of many servers that perform various tasks using a typical LAMP stack. Whenever I approach a new web-based project, I’ve always used PHP in the past.

Today, however, for the first time I’m considering using WE for my latest project.

I’ve developed in Xojo since it was known as RealBasic Version 4, and have made my living for the last several years off of desktop apps I’ve written in Xojo and its predecessors. I’m very comfortable writing for the desktop in Xojo, and understand all the nuances of the language and framework, and know what not to do etc.

Here’s my conundrum: One of my biggest products on the desktop uses built-in SQLiteDatabase with encryption to store / secure customer data. This has always worked well for the desktop, and I’ve never (to my knowledge) had users lose their data. I like the compactness and self-contained nature of sqlite databases, and love how easy they are to work with and use.