RS232 communication

Hi everyone, I’m a young developer and today I started working with Xojo. I’m trying to create a simple RS232 communication program with my hardware. Right now, seeing the video on YouTube, I can read what comes to me on the serial. But now, I would also like to forward messages in hex to my device. How can I do?

instead of using serial.read, you use serial.write …
code snippets in the language reference, and full source code in the examples/communication/serial folder of Xojo.

Hi @Jean-Yves Pochez , I see this in Xojo documents, but being new in Xojo I need more details. I would like you to see my interface so as to tell you what I would like to do. Can I send you a message in private?

@Jean-Yves Pochez , How Can I send you a photo of my example?

@Jean-Yves Pochez I was able to send a command to my hardware with the string you posted to me. My last two questions:

1. How can I send messages in HEX?
  2. When I want to read the data on my device, I don’t see everything, but a part, why?

using the decodehex method, sending the resulting string to the serial device.

Dim s As String s = DecodeHex("61") //returns "a"

post your photo to some online service like imgur.com
then copy the bblink url imgur gives you and paste it here in your reply

depends on many many things…

Thanks @Jean-Yves Pochez, this is my part of program:
https://i.imgur.com/e3S588g.png

In those little squares I’m going to write values in hex to send them to my device. How can I do?

You have to add the filename extension to make your image show:

Anyway, are you sure you want to send hex data? In many cases where an API documentation writes hex data it simply means to send binary values for which the ChrB command exists. For a hex value of &h11 that would simply mean to send a ChrB(17) (or ChrB(&h11)) to the serial.