Resources not loading in Windows app

I’m new to Xojo and have an issue

I’m writing an app that creates a set of jpg images for users based on input to various fields, I have a choice of background images that I have stored in a resources folder in the app that get placed in the canvas which is the saved as jpeg. This works on MAC creating the jpg files as expected but when run on Windows the background image is not saved but the selected text is. I think that in Windows the backgrounds are not being read from the Resources folder but it is there in the compiled project files.

Think of the canvas as write only and you will be much more successful. Create a picture property in your project and draw to that. Then put draw the picture to the canvas for a preview. When it is time to save the image just use Picture.Save to save it out.

Thanks Bob… I’m using Picture.save and it works the only thing it does not do on Windows app that it does do on the Mac app is save the canvas backdrop which is taken from a image which is inside the resources folder so think I have missed something that allows the windows app to read image files from resources folder if that makes sense

It would make a little more sense with some punctuation… :slight_smile:

Joking aside, the issue is likely that you are looking for the files by using a folderitem that refers to the resources folder.
And that will have a different path in Windows

But you dont need to do that.

If you drag the images into your project at design time, Xojo will save the images into the resources folder, BUT
you can refer to the images by name in code, as if they were any other variable.

So instead of saying

dim p as picture p = picture.open(getfolderitem(".").child("Resources").child("picture1.jpg") //or whatever thing.backdrop = p

You just refer to picture.jpg as picture1

thing.backdrop = picture1

This is the Canvas.Paint code,

g.ForeColor= &c000000
g.DrawRect 0,0,Me.width,Me.height

Select case selback
case 1