Resizing Containers

Hi, I am new to XOJO and doing a proof-of-concept project to see if the app will do what I need.

So far I have found the container controls very useful. However, I am completed puzzled at how to make them resize correctly when maximizing the window. If I am reading the documentation correctly, they should resize automatically when I lock all four sides. This seems to work with the rectangle but the buttons and other controls do weird things when I maximize the main page with a container on it.

Could someone give me some direction on how best to do this?

Thank you.

are you locking the controls in the container? They should lock and react to the container as the container reacts to the window

another option is to create an “ARRANGE_CONTROLS” method… .and call this on the RESIZED event
and in that module adjust the sizes and postions.

Yes, I am locking the controls in the container. I have a container with six buttons, all locked. I put the container on the main page and locked it. When I maximize the window, it appears the container resizes correctly but the buttons inside it grow huge and overlap each other. I was hoping it was not necessary to write a routine for every control.

That will happen if you lock ALL 4 corners of a button… lock only two… Top/Left or Bottom/Right etc.

Thanks for the reply. That will eliminate the large push buttons but it does not resize the buttons for the maximized window. I guess there is no getting around writing a routine to resize and reposition the buttons so they grow as the window grows?

Giant buttons look quite ugly. Are you sure you want them?

Usually only TextAreas or ListBoxes resize, but not buttons.

An alternative is to use a canvas to make your own “button” though that may be a bit advanced if you just started.

until Xojo implements AutoLayout for Desktop, you have to do it yourself… hence the “arrange_controls” idea