RecordSet is never Nil. What am I doing wrong?

First of all, let me just say I’m new at this…

This is what I want to do:
I want to select all persons from “person” database with personal ID from my Text Field.
If there is a result of such query, then I send message, else I update my table.
This code always returns rs <> Nil. Why? I’m staring at it for hours and I don’t have a clue.
….
dim rs as RecordSet
if dbas.Connect() then
rs = dbas.SQLSelect(" SELECT * FROM person WHERE persid LIKE ‘"+PersID.Text+"’ ")
if rs <> Nil then
MsgBox “Person ID already exists.”
….

The recordset is not nil, and this is correct
a NIL recordset does not exist, in your example, the recordset DOES exist… .and has the structure matching the table “person” due to the “*” operator.
HOWEVER… the recordset may be EMPTY… the difference is… it exists, but your select statement return ZERO values, this is NOT the same as a NIL recordset

dim rs as RecordSet
if dbas.Connect() then
rs = dbas.SQLSelect(" SELECT * FROM person WHERE persid LIKE '"+PersID.Text+"' ")
if rs.recordCount>0 then 

That’s it.
Thanks, Dave!

Alternatively:
Dim rs As RecordSet = dbas.SQLSelect(“SELECT * FROM person WHERE persid LIKE '”+PersID.Text+"’;")
If rs <> Nil Then
If Not rs.EOF Then
End
End[/code]

But this is how I would do it (and it is faster should person be a table with a lot of records):

If dbas.Connect() Then Dim rs As RecordSet = dbas.SQLSelect("SELECT COUNT(*) AS quantity FROM person WHERE persid LIKE '"+PersID.Text+"';") If rs <> Nil Then If rs.Field("quantity").IntegerValue > 0 Then MsgBox “Person ID already exists.” End End

That would only be preferable, IF you didn’t need the data about the person, and were only checking for “existance”

Also, the elephant in the room that nobody has mentioned… ALWAYS CHECK FOR DATABASE ERRORS

Even that is unnecessary, select count(*) can actually be pretty slow. Just: