Public Not Being Recognized.

I’m beginning to think there is something wrong with my copy of XOJO (or more likely my copy of me). I define a method or property as Public and I still get compile errors telling me the method or property is not recognized. I have the following program structure
App
Window1 (main form)
Mz_vb6 (the only module)
+4 forms
I’m porting my vb6 chess program into xojo (yes, I know even the compiled xojo app won’t be anywhere near as fast as a c, c++ program - I just want to play around with neural nets on a program I know). The original VB6 program was not Object oriented at all plus I’m not very familiar with objects so that’s probably what is wrong, I just can’t understand why a public object is not recognized. I’m writing the xojo version as if I can pretend methods work the same as functions and subs (I’m VERY new to XOJO). Can anyone steer me in the right direction? There is nothing confidential in it so I can zip up the entire code if that will help.

Not recognized where? What is the code that is giving your trouble?

I’m assuming you have a method in your module that you’re trying to call. Something like

• Mz_vb6
    |------ TakeTheRook()

and you want to call it like TakeTheRook().

In a module, Global means you can just use the method name: TakeTheRook(). Public means you can call the method, but you must prefix it with the module name: Mz_vb6.TakeTheRook(). Private means you cannot call the method at all from outside the module.

Thanks for the quick replies! I’ve been trying to cut the code down to something I can post as text and your answer solves that problem.

Another issue: Possible bug?