Problem with commits to Database

Hey everyone, I am currently having a problem with adding to one of my tables in the database. Attached below is a diagram of a snippet of the database in which there is a parent class “PRJ” and linked to “PROJECT-APP” by a foreign key “PRJID”. The code snippet attached below shows what I am trying to do in which I generate a PRJ number for the PRJ table, insert that data into the PRJ table, and then use that exact same number to insert it into the PROJECT-APP table. The SQL query works for the PRJ table but not for the PROJECT-APP table. Let me know if I need to explain it more, I am still new to most of this database stuff so any feedback would be appreciated. Thanks!

Diagram-Capture

Instead of putting a picture of your code copy and past the text and put it between [ Code ] [ /Code ] tags. (without the spaces next to the [ ])

Instead of using text to build your sql you should use PreparedStatements. It is far safer and will also deal with quoting for you. Your problem could easily be due to unexpected characters in your data. For example ’ would cause a problem.

Sorry for the delayed response but here is the code.

[Var sql, sql2, Pnum As String
Var Pid As Integer
Var rs As RowSet
Var doc As New PDFDocument
Dim d As New Date

’ Create SQL Command Statement

sql = “SELECT PRJID FROM PRJ ORDER BY PRJID DESC LIMIT 1”

Try
rs = App.MyDatabase.SelectSQL(sql)
Pid = 20081
Catch error As DatabaseException
MessageBox(error.Message)
End Try

If TextFieldProjectNumber.Text <> “” Then
Pnum = TextFieldProjectNumber.Text.Trim(“PRJ-”)
Else
Pid = Pid + 1
Pnum = Pid.ToString
End If

sql = “INSERT INTO PRJ (PRJID, PRJCLASS) VALUES (”
sql = sql + “'” + SQLify(Pnum) + “‘, "
sql = sql + "’” + SQLify(“APP”) + “'”
sql = sql + “)”

Try
App.MyDatabase.ExecuteSQL(sql)
End Try

sql = “INSERT INTO PROJECT-APP (Comments, Manufacturer, NewAPPNo, PRJ_ID, PRJDetails, Quantity, ReferenceInfo, SalesOrderNo, ShipDate, Type, User) VALUES (”