Possible fix for OS X Mail slow performance

Hi

I have been using OSX Mail for a few years now and have noticed it getting slower and slower with each new OS release. This has become really bad in Sierra so I started to dig around to try and find and answer. Anyone who has the same issue will know that their does not appear to be any solutions and the problem seems to be being ignored by Apple. I currently have over 200,000 emails and it is just so slow now that I was at the point of giving up with Apple Mail.

I have done some research into what the Mail software is doing when querying the index database and this appears to be a big part of the slowness and spinning ball problems being seen by users.

What I have done is add 6 new indexes to the “messages” table and this has massively improved the speed of navigating the Mail messages and displaying messages as well as when composing emails (although the improvement is only slight) .

I thought I would share here in case it might help others.

The extra indexes I added where to the SQLite database that Apple Mail uses to index the messages and can be found in ~/Library/Mail/V4/MailData/Envelope Index and are as follows:

date_received DESC date_sent DESC mailbox ASC, date_received DESC message_id ASC sender ASC flags ASC

Please be aware that I take no responsibility for screwing up your emails and this change is not for the novice.

If others find it useful then maybe someone might like to write a little Xojo program to apply the indexes for others to be able to use.

Kind regards

Nathan