Organise controls into folders previous feedback

<https://xojo.com/issue/6312>

Surprised me that this feature request was turned down.

I went looking to see if someone had requested it as it’s my biggest niggle with Xojo, larger products become a mess in the IDE.

You have SO many controls in a single window that they are unmanagable? Perhaps the use of Controlsets, or custom container controls might be a better option.
I have been using Xojo for 13+ years, and never once has this “feature” ever crossed my mind.

Now using folders to organize Images, Classes and Methods… sure… but never “controls” within a window

I did find it interesting that it took Xojo over 7 years to decide to close that Feedback

Yeah I can’t say I’ve ever wanted that.

It’s a code smell. Organise your stuff into manageable portions. That means a liberal use of container controls and control sets.

[quote=468577:@Dave S]You have SO many controls in a single window that they are unmanagable? Perhaps the use of Controlsets, or custom container controls might be a better option.
I have been using Xojo for 13+ years, and never once has this “feature” ever crossed my mind.

Now using folders to organize Images, Classes and Methods… sure… but never “controls” within a window

[/quote]

I have an app that uses a pagepanel control and has 7 panels. Each panel is unique so container controls are not an option.

I’m not alone as this has come up on the Xojo feedback system, the forum and in other language forums too.

In life I’m a bit OCD about organising stuff so maybe it’s just me but I do often find myself searching for a control in the list and scrolling up and down a lot.

A few organizing methods I use may help.

• make all generic labels member of a control set. I name it “A_Label” so it’s at the top of the list and easily collapsible.