Open Date Validator Project

Let’s start by saying I’m a crappy programmer. Always have been, always will be (so no complaints about what has already been clearly established).

Anyway, I have been having trouble getting ParseDate to produce consistent results on various computers because of the whole regional date thing, so I wrote a simple date validator tonight that works for the next 100 years in my particular circumstance. Just pass it a date in the ‘d/m/yyyy’ format (no leading zeroes) and it will return true or false if the date is valid.

I would love to create a date validator that can be passed various date formats and still validate the date correctly (but unfortunately, I have to move on to the next challenge in my program).

I’m hoping someone can help add those features to create a better routine than this one or at least create a faster version of the routine.

So, please open a beer and outdo me (and Parsedate)!

Sub ValidDate as Boolean
dim thisDate as new date

dim thisMonth as integer
dim thisDay as integer
dim thisYear as integer
dim x as integer

dim dateArray(36500) as string

for x = 0 to 36500
thisMonth = thisDate.month
thisDay = thisDate.day
thisYear = thisDate.year

dateArray(x) = cstr(thisMonth) + "/" + cstr(thisDay) + "/" + cstr(thisYear)

if dateArray(x) = sDate then return true

thisDate.day = thisDate.day + 1

next x
return false
End Sub

I don’t understand… You seem to be providing sDate in the format of M/D/Y and ParseDate loves that format (in the US at least), as ParseDate per the LangRef :

[quote]
ParseDate supports the date formats specified by the user’s regional/international system settings. If Text is a date in another format, then ParseDate will return False[/quote]

So IF your system date format is NOT M/D/Y then ParseDate will seem to fail on certain date strings

• 1/2/16 is Jan 2,2016 for the US format, but is Feb 1,2016 for other formats
  • 31/12/16 is an ERROR for US formats, but is Dec 31,2016 for other formats