Open a pdf file in Ubuntu 12.04

Question:
Is there some special code or setting that is required to open an existing .pdf file in Ubuntu 12.04?
I hate to bother folks but this is such a simple chore in every other tool and environment that I’ve worked in that the fact that I can’t get this working in Linux is really frustrating.

Background:
I am not experienced enough with Linux to even be called a beginner. I’m just groping in the dark!
I have built a desktop application that runs nicely on Windows and Mac.
On the Linux platform I’ve run into two problems (everything else seems to work fine) that I have not as yet been able to resolve.

1. I can’t find a way to open a .pdf file (double click works and I even installed Adobe for Linux but no joy)
  2. I can’t get the WebViewer to function in Linux (HTMLViewer requires libwebkit/libwebkitgtk or libgtkhtml error)

Behavior on Linux (problem 1) is to run up to the Launch method and then nothing happens.
Behavior on Linux (problem 2) is to throw an error

Research:
The XoJo Blog and documentation
Google

Configuration:
iMac running Parallels and Ubuntu 12.04
XoJo 2013 Release R4.1
sudo apt-get install ia32-libs was run
sudo apt-get install libwebkitgtk-1.0.0 was run as well
Parallels was shut down and restarted

Code:
Problem 1
Dim f As FolderItem
f = GetFolderItem(UsePath) where UsePath is an existing .pdf document within the OS file system
f.Launch()

Problem 2
WebViewer.LoadURL(address)

Thanks for any help you can offer.

Regards,

Mark Donges
419Systems.com

Try something like

Dim f As FolderItem
f = GetOpenFolderItem("") // this should give you dialog to select a file so select the PDF
if f <> nil then f.Launch() // if you cancel the open file dialog then f can be nil

This should launch the default application on Ubuntu set to open PDF files
I’ll confess I’m not a Linux expert so I’m not sure how Ubuntu tracks what apps are defaults
But it’s not supposed to be any more than this