ODBC Prepared Statements

Hi, I’m new to Xojo and I’m struggling with ODBC Prepared Statements.

As a learning exercise, I’m trying to convert the Eddies Electronics example from SQLite to MS Access 2007 using ODBC accdb.

For some reason this code no longer works and I can’t fathom the reason why.

Can anyone help me over this hurdle?

Many thanks in advance.

This is the code

Self.prepare should refer to your database connection, i.e. db.prepare. Likewise with stmt.SQLSelect, is should be db.SQLSelect.

Thank you for the response, but self has a value of OrdersDatabase and stmt has a value of ODBCPreparedStatement, so I’m guessing that these are the correct values.

There must be some crucial difference between the SQLitePreparedStatement and the ODBCPreparedStatement that Xojo does not like.

But what class is OrdersDatabase? A class you defined yourself I guess. Tanner is right with his comment.

What do you mean exactly by “no longer woks”? At what point, and how, is it failing?

The Super of OrdersDatabase has been changed from SQLiteDatabase to ODBCDatabase.

It does not return a recordset.

This modification does work.

Check the error condition of the database after you attempt to get the RecordSet. I’ll bet it’s not what you think.

Many thanks for your help, but is this what you mean?

It shows that rs is Nil, but with the modified code rs = RecordSet.

You have to connect before you send any other command to the database.

If the super was originally an SQLiteDatabase then why are you running ODBC… statements against it?

Also, I’d suggest you clearly define the database as a global property with an unambiguous name. I suspect references to self may come back to haunt you.

Eddies Electronics is an example of a database program that comes with Xojo. All I am trying to do is use an Access 2007 database that has been converted from the supplied SQLite database.

I am altering the minimum amount of code that’s necessary to achieve this.