Newbie help with arrays/loops (solved)

I’m having trouble figuring out how to loop through an array for a very basic flashcard program (Sorry… I’m not just new to Xojo, I’m new to programming altogether). Anyway, the user interface would consist of only three buttons: one for going forward through the list of words, one for going backwards, and one for showing the answer.

Right now, I’m just trying to work through how I go forward through the list. For this, I put the array in a pushbutton meant to move forward through the list…

dim cards(5) as String

cards(0) = “final”
cards(1) = “conclusion”
cards(2) = “similar”
cards(3) = “definition”
cards(4) = “area”

For Each name As String In cards
label1.text = (name)
Next

But it only shows me the last element, “area.”

I also tried this…

Dim i as integer
For i As Integer = 0 To 4 Step 1
Label1.text = cards(i)
next

… thinking that it would step through the cards each time I pushed the button. But this doesn’t work either. I’m not even sure if this is the kind of loop I should use. ugh

Any hints or suggestions would be greatly appreciated.

It seems that if you press the button your program starts the loop and is running through it. So you have always the last item as result. No wonder because you are at the end of the loop.

I would try to add one to a counter and check whether the counter is less than 5 (then counter equals 0) or something like this.

You need your program to remember its “state” between pushes of the buttons. To do that, you need to user Properties of the window rather than local variables. (DIM creates a local variable. It is destroyed as soon as the button push code finishes.)

Add 2 properties to the window.

cards(4) as String
cardIndex as Integer

In the window Open event, initialize the values

cards(0) = "final"
cards(1) = "conclusion"
cards(2) = "similar"
cards(3) = "definition"
cards(4) = "area"

cardIndex = -1

In the button for going forward, put

cardIndex = cardIndex + 1