New to Xojo in Chicago

New to Xojo. That is the understatement of the year. I am an old Superbase developer. Since Superbase is stuck in the 16bit world(please no comments on that) and mostly non existent, I chose Xojo.

Spent 20 hrs with tutorials and Google searches to get a database connected (in code) and populate a listbox. The IDE essentially has me stumped as to the coding aspect of it. Superbase was procedural with OO components. So I find myself trying to translate what I know to Xojo and it is not working out well.

My background is Windows, and Linux. Don’t have problems with SQL databases(so far). Been using SQLite and Postgres.

Is there a Chicago user group or individual(s) that I can join up with to answer these newbie questions?

Have you tried the manual yet?
It will cover a lot of questions you might have about the IDE and language.

The Language Reference breaks down items by theme and type, so you can find answers without knowing exactly what Xojo might call something. The Docs also has a search in the top right corner if you do happen to know what you’re looking for. I’m glad you tried Google as well, it’s a great tool that will more often take you to the old forums which is loaded with answers.

I don’t know about a Chicago user group, I just came by to leave some useful links :slight_smile:

Welcome to Xojo!

Yes I have read them, tried the examples, even have 3 books on the topic(old but still useful). I think it’s primarily a mental attitude. Been immersed in Superbase for so long, that a bootstrap may be in order.

If a Chicago user group wishes to form, I am pretty sure I can provide the meeting space in Buffalo Grove (northwest suburb of Chicago).