New to xojo and programming. sample project

New to xojo and programming.
Hi, I am new to xojo and the bulk of my experience is HTML although i did take a javascript class a long time ago but it has been long enough that I really dont remember much of it.

I am reading through the introduction to xojo and will move onto the desktop instructions after.
My learning it usually helps me to have a project in mind with a similar example while I am working through the manuals. My first project since it is something my company would like to have eventually is a fairly simple timeclock. It would have a user ID field and a password field, then 2 buttons- clock in and clock out. This would then be able to export to a csv or database (i only have openoffice on the computer I have to practice and havent really used the access clone on it).
So the program would have some logic that “user” and “password” matches the user and password I have set up for that person it would create an entry for clock in and clock out. seeing if anyone would have some example code of a similar program that would check to see if two fields match a person, press enter(clockin/out) it would then create an entry in or exportable to an excel sheet or database that i can then manipulate to get totals etc.

also note there is already a timeclock for paychecks and this above is more to track when employees are in the building so I don’t necessarily need all the extra features that the typical timeclocks would use.

sorry for the long post :slight_smile:

Hey there James - what part of the world are you in?

Welcome!

Welcome and good luck with your project James!
Don’t hesitate to post questions on this forum.

Warning, There might be many, very helpful members here! :wink: