MySQL comparing data

Hello there, I am really new to this but I am trying to compare data with a label to see if the version matches with the database and if it does it will say there is an update ready if it matches it will say everything is updated, thanks for any help on this matter

[code]If db.Connect Then
MsgBox “Connect!”
rs = db.SQLSelect(“SELECT * FROM update WHERE version = 1.0.0”)

if db.Error then
  MsgBox("Error: " + db.ErrorMessage)
  Return
end if

If rs <> Nil Then
  While Not rs.EOF
    If rs.Field("version").StringValue = "update" Then
      MsgBox("Table: " + rs.Field("version").StringValue)
    End If
    rs.MoveNext
  Wend
  rs.Close
End If
db.Close

Else
If db.Error Then
Return
End If
End If[/code]

Not sure what your table holds but 1.0.0 is a string, not a number

So it probably needs quotes

"SELECT * FROM update WHERE version = '1.0.0'"

[quote=376300:@Jeff Tullin]Not sure what your table holds but 1.0.0 is a string, not a number

So it probably needs quotes

"SELECT * FROM update WHERE version = '1.0.0'"

In addition to that, in your loop you’re looking for version=“update”, which it never will since you selected only records where it equals 1.0.0. Maybe you meant to compare a different field in your loop?

I get shot at for offering a solution where none is asked for … but

If db.Connect Then
    MsgBox "Connect!"
    rs = db.SQLSelect("SELECT * FROM update WHERE version = '"+whateverlabel.text+"'" // a prepared statement would be better

if db.Error then
      Return
    end if
    if rs.recordCount>=1 then 
        msgbox "MATCH"
    else
       msgbox "NO MATCH"
   end if
end if

instead of wasting resources comparing each record to a “known value”… just look for that value…