Music, MIDI, Programming, XOJO and...

It’s pretty clear that there are a few musicians/music aficionados in the XOJO community. Maybe it’s a good idea to out ourselves? I don’t have any particular topic to discuss, other than the idea of a Thread for this particular topic.

I am a musician/educator, and I know that @Ulrich Bogun is another musician. Possibly there are a few more people from Dante’s Infernal Solfege Debate Thread, (aka La Di Dah - Do’h! Re Mi), or anyone at all who wants to join in.

@Massimo Valle
@Michel Bujardet
@Eli Ott
@Robert Steely
@Ruth Millard
@ Other People

My interests: I have been working on software that will play back various musical examples with MIDI. I am not trying to reproduce a Logic or CakeWalk, but to develop my own little engine that can service various applications - educational and analytical mostly - and some algorithmic composition as a secondary pursuit. I have tinkered with coding over the years, but my background is purely music.

Master of Music degree. 35 years as a public school choral teacher. Heavy into MIDI in the 90’s, got away when I discovered programming, but getting back into it with a Yamaha MOXF8 hooked to Cubase. I am interested in this thread.

Hey Roger - good to hear from you.Sounds like we have similar backgrounds.

Are you working on any particular applications? Or any particular interests?

BTW, I am using the MBS Audio/MIDI plug. Sadly for me, my academic duties will keep me very busy till about May so my dev time will be curtailed severely, but I am going to keep plogging on along.

I have not tried mixing my programming and music interests by programming with MIDI, believing it to be decidedly non-trivial. Do you have any Midi apps or are u still at the interest stage?

I don’t have any finished apps, but I am well into the development phase. Sadly though, at the moment development is a sideline as I am teaching full-time and working towards a couple of big performances.