Modal window ... menu disabled

How can I make a window modal and retain the functionality of a menu?

Seems that whenever I set a window’s Frame to be Modal, the Menu gets disabled.

Have you assigned the menu bar to the modal ?
Have you implemented any of the menu handlers ?

[quote=51921:@Norman Palardy]Have you assigned the menu bar to the modal ?
Have you implemented any of the menu handlers ?[/quote]

What do you mean “assigned the menu bar to the modal”?

The window uses a menu that I created. The menu handlers do what they are designed to do. If I set the Window’s frame to be Modal, the menu is disabled. If I set the Window’s frame to be a normal (something other than modal), then the menus work.

Hey Rick I’m just a beginner with xojo but I think what Norman was saying…
Assign the menu

Add the Handler to both your main window and your modal window

I made this quick sample to show you that I can have different menu’s based on the modal window. I know that you want the same but wanted to show you how to display different menu’s with the various windows.

It seems that if your modal window has been called by a menu, then the menu are disabled. I think it’s normal as your are already in a menu event then you can’t launch another menu event.

Good Lord!

[quote=52001:@Rob Vanarsdall]Hey Rick I’m just a beginner with xojo but I think what Norman was saying…
Assign the menu

Add the Handler to both your main window and your modal window

I made this quick sample to show you that I can have different menu’s based on the modal window. I know that you want the same but wanted to show you how to display different menu’s with the various windows.[/quote]

Here’s what I have for a specific Window…

Frame: 3 - Floating Window
MenuBar: mnuCommon (a menu I created)
MenuBarVisible: True

With the Frame set at Floating Window, the menu is active and usable.
Now, if I change the Frame setting to either Movable Modal or Modal Dialog, the menu is inactive (can’t be used).