Minimizing Snark

Greetings Fellow Testers!

Please don’t tear this post apart, as I’m not trying to be rude, condescending, etc., so please resist the urge to be offended.

I’ve been using RS/Xojo since 2006, so that’s about 7 years now. I found it in a pinch where I needed to program an application for Mac, when I’d never spent more than an hour on a Mac in my life. The simple, fast to learn language, and cross-platform capabilities made my work possible. At the time Aaron Ballman, Mike Baley, and a gentleman aliased “Pi Master” were incredibly helpful in completing my task. I was so pleased with how it went, that I continued to use RS, and soon moved to using it full-time.

Part of what really impressed me were the active engineers on the forums, and the incredibly helpful user-base. Over time, though, I did start to notice a pattern — that lives on to this day — wherein a single-user would voice frustration at a topic, and multiple members would then jump on it like a pack of wolves. Sometimes an engineer could hop on, cool, and resolve the matter; other times the engineer would then become the prey, and they themselves be torn apart. Mind you, it was generally indirect, with something to the effect of, “Those at RS continue to do whatever they want!” It seems like the posters realize someone from RS is watching, and take the opportunity to voice their vehement antipathy. This isn’t horrible, but what really seems too bad is that the users become like an incorrigible mob. I think, however, it’s more accurate to say a handful of members remain incorrigible.